Publishing static pages as private in S3

When I publish my site to S3, even though my bucket has an ACL which makes it private, the objects are pushed there with public access enabled. Can I force WP2Static somehow to not do this, so that the objects stay private?

I’m no developer but it seems like this is the cause:

In https://github.com/WP2Static/wp2static-addon-s3/blob/master/src/Deployer.php:

$put_data = [
        'Bucket' => Controller::getValue( 's3Bucket' ),
        'ACL'    => 'public-read',
    ];

If that can be an option we set for deploying rather than hard-coded, that would be amazing. Thanks!

Assuming v7, the object ACL is hard-coded. It would be pretty easy to add it as an option though. Just out of curiosity, why is this needed?

Thanks - I’d consider adding it myself, I can code A LITTLE but it would take me all day to figure out how to do so then how to submit a patch back to you :slight_smile:

This is for a site which is only to be accessed via CloudFront, which has a WAF configured in front of it. We don’t want anyone stumbling across the S3 bucket and accessing directly. ACL is configured on the bucket to only allow CloudFront to access it and the objects in it, but that hard-set ACL overrides the bucket policy.

1 Like

Interesting. I’ll make a pull request tomorrow. I think that private and public-read are the only ACLs that make sense for WP2Static.

1 Like

That would be perfect. Thanks John!

Issue | PR

1 Like

Thanks @epicpilgrim for reporting and @john-shaffer for the fix! Have merged that in, but I’m still in V6 land (where a similar fix will end up), so there’s no new publicly announced builds just yet. @epicpilgrim are you using the GitHub repositories or will need some new installers to use this?

1 Like